top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureava shapiro

Trend Forecast Fall 2024: Cloudy With a Chance of Individuality

Updated: Aug 7

When I was a kid, I always dreamt of having things that were mine. My own computer, not just the one in the now-extinct computer room of the house. My own wallet, with my own money earned from a small allowance, if I cleaned my room. And especially, my own phone. I grew up in the times when the internet was just becoming a crucial part of everyday life, and I distinctly remember owning one of the original iPod Touches and finally feeling like I had a device that was all mine. I could choose my own case, my own phone background, and my own apps. With my new pink OtterBox phone case, Justin Bieber lock screen, and the first iteration of Instagram, back when the app was prime for photographers and early adopters, they were sharing their portfolios rather than what they ate for lunch. 


Cultivating things that were specific to me was always something that made me feel confident. Even now, the laptop I’m writing this on has tens of stickers ranging from a slogan of my alma mater (go blue!) to a Lisa Frank tiger to Paris Hilton eating an ice cream cone. All of these specific and sometimes goofy stickers culminate into a collage of some of my favorite things, and importantly, things that I feel represent me to the world.


Along with the classic technology mods we all partake in (if you don’t have a phone case, go get one. It’s 2024, be responsible!), it’s becoming an emerging fashion trend to customize and embellish your pieces with your unique style, whether that means designing your own phone background with Canva or creating a garment from scratch. With brands like Staud, J.Crew, and Coach offering services to personalize items, the practice is in full force.  If you are looking for some inspiration to make the things you own personal to you, here are some ideas and current trends to try. 


  • Charm Necklaces


Charm necklaces in both gold and silver seem to be all the rage this summer. Whether you get them made at a specific store or make them yourself with some tools, you can create a completely unique design with charms that speak to you.


My best recommendations for where to find charms would be various Etsy sellers, where you can search specifically for the kinds of charms you want. This is where I found some truly special pieces, like my oyster pearl and tiny dancer. Here are more examples and specific sellers:





Picnic Basket




If DIY isn’t really your thing and you’d rather have it made for you, there are also some places that will let you pick out some charms and have it all done once it’s given to you. This may be a good option if you want all of the charms to fit the same design aesthetic from one specific store or seller. 








With this tool kit from Amazon and a pack of jump rings, you can choose where the pieces go and how far apart they are, making your piece one of a kind.


Lastly, my favorite chain necklace and bracelet brand is Melinda Maria, which carries different styles and lengths of chains, all 14-karat gold plated, so they won’t turn you green or rub off their color. 



  • Vintage Reworks


Another popular way to customize your clothing is through thrifting or vintage shopping and adding elements to make it fit your personal style. Whether you darn your new button-down shirt with a brooch or add funky laces to a thrifted pair of sneakers, any older piece can become new again with some creativity. 


Here are some embellishment ideas that you can put to good use on second-hand garments: 










  • LL Bean Boat and Tote


If you’re a chronically online Fashionphile like myself, then I’m sure you’re familiar with the ironic Boat and Tote LL Bean Bag. While our childhood LL Bean totes were lovingly sewn with our initials, a fun way to add a bit of spice is to write something fun. I even have one inspired by the one and only Jenna Lyons, styled with “Old Celine.” If Jenna Lyons customizes her clothes, then we all should. 


To find some inspiration, head to @ ironicboatandtote on Instagram, where you can find favorites such as “Mom Shit,” “Hot Mess,” and a personal favorite “#1 Crier.”





8 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page