top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureava shapiro

The Best Dog Brands, Tested by Experts (Or by Two Goldendoodles)

The dog days of summer may be in full swing, but we dog owners know that taking the best care of our canine companions never ends. It’s easy to fall victim to the new fads in pet supplies without really knowing if it's the best product on the market for your fluffy friend. 


It may be a surprise to some, but the trends in the dog world ebb and flow just as trends in fashion. There’s always gonna be a new pet food, leash, or dog-friendly activity that is all the rage. This summer, the latest dog lifestyle and fashion trends are as hot and heavy as the weather. Tested and reviewed by yours truly (with the help of my dogs, Butterscotch and Johnnie Walker), here are some of my picks for the best dog products you need, from playtime to bedtime. 



(L to R): Johnnie Walker (in his shaved era), Butterscotch (in her beach girl era), and both pups sitting together like nice dogs.



Since one of my dogs is a giant puppy (he is a little over one year old, and he towers over me), walking him can sometimes be a struggle. Pulling, barking, and chasing after rabbits all while staying attached to me. With this predicament, I need a sturdy, long leash to keep him at bay. And of course, because it's me, I needed something cute and fashionable, which is how I discovered Found My Animal. 


This brand of gorgeous rope leashes, collars, toys, harnesses, and pretty much all other dog-walking necessities, are adjustable and have in a variety of colors and styles. They come with a metal carabiner-type hook that can easily lock onto the collar, making your dog secure and safe. My dogs love the length, letting them roam with a sense of freedom. I love how I don’t feel like they are going to rip the leash in half in one pull. Plus, the pretty ombre colors turn our daily walks into a full-fledged furry fashion show. 


Photos via Found My Animal


My personal favorites are the California Cotton Rope Dog Leash, Butterscotch Cotton Rope Dog Leash (since one of my dog’s names is Butterscotch, it’s only right that she walks with this leash), and of course their fleece pet jacket collection with Free People. How could you resist putting your dog in this cute little jacket?

Photos via Found My Animal



This product is genuinely game-changing for walking! While browsing my local pet store, I of course bought several dogs for my dogs that I am certain they will destroy immediately. While at the checkout, I noticed an oddly shaped pencil clip-type device about the size of my iPhone. Once I realized what this product was made for, I instantly bought three of them.


The dooloop is a slim, lightweight handle that makes it easy to slide used poop bags and walk around with your dog’s excrement hands-free. You can just attach it right to the leash and not have to walk down past your neighbors with bags of poop in your hands. It’s truly so innovative and makes walks (especially with dogs as big as mine) a mess-free breeze. 



Photo via dooloop



As I said before, my dogs are quick to completely demolish their chew toys immediately upon getting them. I love seeing videos on TikTok of dogs getting a lamb chop or another animal toy and taking care of it like it's their baby, knowing that my dogs would never be caught acting so sweetly with their toys.


The one toy that my dogs don’t rip apart is the chew toys from Benebone. These flavored, fun-shaped bones are a huge hit with my dogs, whether they are salmon-flavored or classic bacon. These chew toys are the ones in their arsenal that my dogs fight over the most. Once they have a Benebone chew toy, no one can take it away from their grasp. If you want to give your dog a chew toy they will love as much as you love them, then this will be the perfect addition to your ever-growing chew toy collection.



Photo via Benebone

7 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page